NaNoWriMo 2016

I’ve bitten the bullet, I have decided to challenge myself to see if I could do it again.  Could I write another novel in 30 days?  November is National Novel Writing Month.  The first time I did this type of writing, it was 1999, I had just graduated college and I was home all day waiting for the school year to start and my new teaching career to begin.  I had never heard of NaNoWriMo.  I had not heard of it until sometime in the last couple years.  Who knew that there was a whole group of people, over 200,000, out there working on this crazy idea that they could write a novel in 30 days.  50,000 words in 30 days. What a concept.  My first novel was not quite that long, I wrote 42,612 words that year, but it was oh so close.  Not knowing then what I know now, I think I scored big to be able to finish it like I did.

Wow, I can’t believe that 17 years have passed since I wrote that first book. Lots of life has happened between then and now.  This months writing is supposed to just get the words down on paper, get the story written, but I find myself re-reading it and adding more to it to flesh it out as I go along.  I am doing what is called a panster this time.  The first time I was a plotter – I had an outline, a table of contents, and a title for every chapter and an idea of where each chapter was going to lead.  This time I am flying by the seat of my pants (panster), I am letting the story take me where ever it wants to go and I am finding myself surprised at every turn.

Since I had not a clue what I was going to write about I chose the label of women’s fiction, I think it is shaping up nicely and I think it is turning into more of a psychological mystery. They said that would happen, you might choose one genre and as you write it turns into something else.  All I can say, is that I can’t wait to see where this adventure is going to take me.

They say “Once a teacher, always a teacher.” And I find that I can’t help but share about youth writing possibilities.  NaNoWriMo has a young writers program as well.  You can find that information here: Young Writers Program

What could it hurt? That kid in your class that can’t put his or her pencil down because they want to get the next part of their story written, this would be a great place for them to go and find others just like them from around the world.  The experience could open up the world to them and they will find friends that would not be available to them anywhere else.  A win-win situation if you ask me.  The month is still young, if you have a student in your class that you think would like to do something like this, share this with their parents. Open up the world of words to them.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gladys Louise Remaley Premo
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 11:26:36

    I wish you a lot of success, Charlene. I have several books in my heart and mind, just not on paper. Maybe one day, too, I shall have bitten the proverbial bullet.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • CharleneMcD
      Nov 03, 2016 @ 15:47:05

      Go for it, you don’t have to do a marathon writing, just write a little each day and before you know it that book that is in your heart and mind will be complete.

      Like

      Reply

  2. tric
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 03:30:37

    Good luck. I’m already behind as i was away but back to it today

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • CharleneMcD
      Nov 03, 2016 @ 15:46:07

      I have been having fun, writing a story that I have no clue where it is going to take me. So far – day 2- yesterday I was still on track to finish in time…we shall see.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • CharleneMcD
      Nov 03, 2016 @ 21:47:53

      What name did you use to register on NaNo? I used my full name see if you can find me and add me to your buddy list.

      Like

      Reply

      • tric
        Nov 05, 2016 @ 17:58:06

        I’ll have a look for you, I tried earlier but couldn’t figure it out. I used my full name too.
        I’m not exactly tearing along, but I’ve nearly 3000 words which I’d not have written down. Hopefully next week will be more productive.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • CharleneMcD
          Nov 06, 2016 @ 12:58:37

          I can’t find you using your last name and country. What is your novel’s name? Mine is “Indecision”. Maybe we can find each other that way.

          Hope the writing is going well, it has been a fun experience, I find I am writing everywhere I can. I have stuff in emails, on the computer program notepad, in handwriting in a spiral notebook, and of course in the original document. Doing everything to meet the goal. LOL. Best of luck with your writing too.

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

