Dear Unknown Person

I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart, you broke a 32 year record today that I was hoping to continue for quite a bit longer.  It was about 32 years ago that I got my first checking account at the age of 17.  I don’t know how you found me or why, but just today I found out that you did.  This has been a year of firsts let me tell you.

I hope that whatever you bought on Craigslist with my debit card will keep you warm or feed you well this Christmas season. Unfortunately, for you, I never shop on that site so I really feel bad for your choice of shopping grounds. It got my attention that much faster.  I am so sorry you didn’t get to take more than you did from my account, but like my step-dad always used to say “you can’t make a turnip bleed”.  When the money isn’t there, it just isn’t there.  A single income household will do that to you, you know.

You dear person, are one of the many reasons that I don’t have credit cards.  Most people don’t check those on a regular basis, and I am sure you thought I was one of them.  However, because I depend too much on what I work very hard to bring home, I won’t give anything extra to credit card companies to make them richer.  Your borrowing my card and making my checking account (that I check at least once daily and sometimes more) have insufficient funds gave me a reason to make a very speedy visit my bank today.  I haven’t done that in a long while and thanks to this visit, I ran into a friend I hadn’t seen for a few months.  So, thanks again for borrowing my card.

Dear Person, why you would choose to do this type of thing(go into Credit Card Fraud) instead of actually going out and working yourself is beyond me.  Myself, I like to be able to feel proud of what I’ve accomplished and not feel that I have to hide behind an internet connection somewhere and take what isn’t mine to take.

Fair warning, someday, you will be caught.  You will mess up and borrow from the wrong individual and they will hunt you down and make you pay back what isn’t yours.  When that time comes, remember that somewhere out here in this great big world someone is praying for you.

Please know that while I should be angry and bitter about this experience, I am not.  The fact that you got so little cheers me up.  Now, I can finally say that I have joined the club.  Unfortunately, I can’t tell my friends anymore that it hasn’t happened to me yet, because now it has.  I always knew that “yet” was just a matter of time.  I am so very glad you waited as long as you did to find me.  Even better, I am so glad you found me after I was able to get all my bills paid and my shopping done for Christmas and none of my loved ones are going to go without this year.

Like I said earlier, I hope that whatever you bought with the remainder of my account will keep you warm or well fed.  I hope you use what you got for good and not for the evil that taking from me was intended.  I hope you learn that working hard for something, and not just taking what you want, is what builds character.  I hope that where ever you are in this world, whether on the west coast where the purchases were made or out across the ocean, that someone in your life has a way to influence you and make you stop and look around you at everyone else.  You are not the only one that needs things in this world. Yes, I know this world is hurting from so much more than what you are doing.  However, I pray that someday, somewhere, you become a person that will make a difference in someone’s life, instead of being the person you are that creates the chaos.

Dear Person, because I don’t know your circumstances and what has driven you to do this type of thing, I will just offer you my forgiveness. May the Lord bless you during this Christmas season.

Best Wishes,

From Just Another Card in Your Pile.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

