Stepping Out In Faith

This year has been a big learning experience for me.  I started drawing 3 years ago as a part of counseling.  In the beginning I used it as a way to find my way back to me.  I lost the me that I was years ago, the girl that was so independent that she joined the Air Force on a dare.  That girl got buried under a bed of anger, fear, and unforgiveness.  If I were my 18 year old self again, I would not recognize the person I was four years ago.  Four years ago I was no longer strong, I was a broken, bitter, angry woman.  I was so far away from the woman that God created me to be.

The amazing thing about looking back at that person, is that I can see a difference in me.  I am at peace with my life now.  I turn everything over in prayer.  The big things and the little things.  I have daily conversations with God as I drive in my car back and forth to work.  My trip takes an hour each way, so I have a captive audience, or He does. Sometimes these conversations are silent conversations, but sometimes, I just burst forth and praise out loud.  I love the beauty of nature, and I just have to thank Him everyday for providing me with a different view of the same route day in and day out.  I have been driving the same route now for 10 years.  At one point it was once a week, now it is every day, and never in that time has the vista, the beauty of the clouds, the rainbows, the sunsets, the clear blue skies ever been the same from one day to the next.  I never get a chance to get bored on my drive.

Those colors are my inspirations, they are sometimes what I use to create my drawings.  I use ink pens, that limits my choices of color, so I have become creative.  Sometimes I have a desire to branch out and try using a paint brush, mix my own paints and create beautiful masterpieces.  But then I realize, if I stop to look at the pictures I am creating, in my own little way I am creating my own masterpieces.  I spend a large part of my time when I am creating these pictures in prayer.  Each color and design is created with a prayer.  If I am drawing the item for someone else the prayers are focused on that person.

The pictures I have been working on now are for a children’s book.  They are covered in prayers too.  These prayers are a little different than my normal prayers.  They are for the people, the adults and the children that will be reading my book now and in the future.  That is where I am stepping out in faith.  I know that God is going to place the finished product into the hands of the strangers that I have been praying for.  These strangers that I will never meet face to face, may never know that they have already been prayed for.  I have prayed for something that has not happened in their lives yet but will need prayer when it does.  It has already been prayed for.

Someone recently asked me if I had approached any publishers yet. The answer is no, not yet.  I am not ready for that phase yet.  I want to have a completed product that can be read and enjoyed by the right publisher.  So I am stepping out in faith that the right person will be placed in my path when the time is right.

I will say, that all the illustrations are now complete it took me exactly 6 months from start to finish.  They are ready to be paired with the words that I am going to be writing.  However, just like some of the pictures I am struggling with getting the words started.  Where do I go next.  I am finding it really easy to type this blog, but for some reason the keyboard and computer screen are not personal enough to trigger a flood of words.  I have just about decided to go old school.  Pen and paper.  College ruled.  Notebook style old school.  I even went out and bought myself a Rhyming Dictionary in the hopes that if I decide to go the poetry route I will find the right words in those pages.  It is sitting to my left, and the spine is still in mint condition.  I have not used it enough yet to give the spine some wear and tear.  How in the world do you rhyme with the word sweater?

Several months ago I joined a group that was pursuing their God-sized Dreams.  I met so many wonderful ladies in this group.  Each of their dreams are different, that is the wonder of being unique in this world.  We shared our dreams and goals. While pursuing the one dream, the dream may have changed or spread its wings and become bigger than the dreamer thought possible.  It was through this group that I decided to pursue the dream of writing.  I have had my starts and stops and my ups and downs, but the dream is still there.  I never thought that part of this dream would include illustrating, but then my dreams are never the same size as God-sized dreams.  I think small, he sees the big picture.  So every step of this journey, even the ones that I don’t see are all in God’s plan.  I need to remind myself to step out in faith and to just enjoy the journey as I travel down this path.

Where in your life do you need to step out in faith.  Are you starting a new job? Are you pursuing your acting, dancing, singing careers?  Do you have a relationship that need prayers and a major step of faith?  Are you getting ready to start college?  Maybe you are in the final stages before your wedding date.

Everything you do, from the time you step out of bed in the morning until you lay your head down at night is done in faith.  Faith that your steps will be guided in the right direction, faith that your words will be used to help and not hurt, faith that the things you see, smell, touch, hear and taste will all be used for good and not bad.

May you Step Out In Faith joyously, enthusiastically, spiritually, and with your hearts wide open to the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

