Celebrating Our Years Together

My husband and I got married twice, in Italy.  The first was in a civil wedding by the town mayor in June and then a little less than a month later in July we were married in the chapel on base.  Traditionally, my husband and I are not really big gift givers for our anniversary.  We will do a card or two (I will usually get a romantic one and a funny one for him; he will usually get one romantic card for me).

What we have found we enjoy the most over the years, is spending the closest weekend to our anniversary together just enjoying time in another town away from the usual hustle and bustle of our lives. Since we have two anniversary dates, we would usually pick the one that was closest to a weekend. Once it was chosen we would acknowledge the other date but it wasn’t celebrated that year.  This year both dates fall on the weekend, so we haven’t chosen which one we will celebrate, that said, this Friday we will celebrating our 28th year together.

I have a curious mind and give into curiosity a lot.  I wanted to find out what the traditional gift would be for this year of marriage and found that on most lists we are lost somewhere between the 25th and 30th Anniversaries.

I like both of those gift ideas and will take one of each, the traditional and the modern, thank you.  But I guess I will have to wait a couple more years to get them.

Twenty-Fifth Silver AnniversarySilver (Traditional) Silver AnniversarySilver (Modern
Thirtieth Pearl AnniversaryPearl Diamond AnniversaryDiamond

However, being the good research librarian I am, I had to keep on searching and I finally found a complete list of gift ideas from year 1 to year 60 on this site: http://www.hallmark.com/anniversary/ideas/wedding-anniversary-gifts/

28th Wedding Anniversary

Theme: Linens

For spouses
Budget:
Buy new place-mats and cloth napkins that give a romantic dinner at home a more elegant feel.

Splurge:
Transform your bedroom into a chic retreat with a new comforter, throw pillows and curtains. Make a new mattress part of the fun.

For another couple
Send them a set of bright, new kitchen towels, oven mitts, pot holders and washcloths.

Linens! No wonder year 28 is hiding, buried out there in the web for only the determined to find.  While I like linens, who doesn’t? They keep you warm at night, and make your tables and kitchens pretty.  However, this is not my idea of a romantic anniversary gift.  Yeah, I know in the description it says a romantic dinner, but who wants a romantic dinner at home, dinner at home is the norm most of the year.  A romantic dinner includes a beautiful star filled sky, candle light, a hushed atmosphere where you don’t speak above a whisper, and someone playing a violin in the back ground as you share food that you would never find gracing your kitchen much less your dining room table.

The Splurge suggestion is kind of one of those “really” things too. Getting a new mattress for your anniversary ranks right up there with getting a new vacuum or blender from your husband or giving your husband a new power saw.  Okay scratch that most husbands would love to receive a new power saws at any time of the year and if it was for his anniversary he would be happy with that.  I really can’t think of anything to give a husband that even compares to the vacuum, kitchen item or bathroom scales that would have the same “What were you thinking?” moment.

Okay, enough of that, 28 years sounds like it’s a long time.  In some ways it is, I have lived with my husband 10 years longer than I lived with my siblings. Even with the time passing, I still feel like the young girl I was when we first married wondering what this world is going to bring to our lives.  These 28 years have gone by so very fast.  It is amazing to me how fast time seems to go by now that I am older.  Here we are already in June and it feels like we just celebrated the New Year. When I was little it seemed like a day was forever and a year was an eternity.  Now it seems like if I blink I will miss it.  That is how fast these years have flown.

They haven’t all been easy years, we have had our ups and downs. Those should a, could a, would a moments. We have had those moments when the foot heading out the door in goodbye was farther away than the one inside wanting to stand firm.  But, even with those troubled times there was one constant, we both continued to love each other and to seek ways to reconfirm our commitments to each other.

So, if my husband decided he wanted to buy me some romantic linens for a romantic dinner at home, I would clean off the dining room table so we would have a place to eat that dinner. (The dining room table is my art drawing station, and paper collector, and book collector, and junk mail collector, and it would take me at least a couple hours to get it back down to bare wood again. So this would be a definite commitment to ensuring a romantic dinner.)

Even with all the ups and downs, I wouldn’t want to spend those years or the future ones with anyone else.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. davidmcdonnoughfaithblog
    Jun 13, 2015 @ 14:32:37

    😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. D'Sue
    Jun 11, 2015 @ 01:28:53

    Love your perspective on “Linens” for an anniversary that falls between Silver and Pearls/Diamonds. What were they thinking?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

