Spending Time Away

I have been quiet on here lately and I have a good excuse.  I started writing my book this past month.  It has been a challenge  to write about things that happened to me and my family so long ago.  I’ve been stopping and doing a little research as I go along and finding out new little pieces of information that were unexpected.  But I am going to stick it out.

I let a friend read what I had written so far and she told me that she actually cried during two parts of it.  One of the parts surprised me, but she said that the way I am writing it is very inspirational.  She told me that she really enjoyed my writing and that she was touched by the passion and love that was in my writing when I told about my family and she was really surprised that there wasn’t any anger when I was writing about the bad stuff.  She asked me to please keep going and to not drag it out for 4 or 5 year.  She promised me that she would be the first to purchase my book when it was published.  She also offered to read and edit it as I go along so I have my editor on board.

So even though I am procrastinating in writing the hard parts, I am getting them done one chapter at a time.  I write a little here and there and when it gets too hard I stop and go onto something else for a while.

For those of you that are writing your own story, don’t stop.  Even if you never publish it, the story will be there for your children, grandchildren and their children.  It will be something that you can pass down to the generations that come after you and they won’t be stuck wondering why you were that way you were.  They will have your words to look at and read and they will understand that sometimes things happen that change a life forever.   As you write you will come to understand that even when you didn’t think you were strong, there was strength that was provided for you when you needed it.  All you need to do is whisper a little prayer to God and he will give you mighty gifts.

So if I don’t post again for a while, it isn’t that I am giving up my blog.  It is because I have a very limited time slot for writing and I want to get my book written this summer.  So I will be writing that much more than I will be writing this.  Have a wonderful summer.  See you in a few.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barbarafranken
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 04:15:29

    Thanks for coming to my blog charlene… I am enjoying reading your blog… good luck with your book writing, IAM doing the same… it does take time… but IAM sure we will enjoy each others journey too… Barbara

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Blogging has given me the chance to write, and an excuse not to. | My thoughts on a page.
  3. tric
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 16:16:30

    I am delighted for you. Well done. I don’t think I could write mine as I am still consciously blocking out all I do not wish to remember. I would be afraid to open old wounds, I look forward to reading it someday. How strong you are.

    Like

    Reply

    • CharleneMcD
      Jun 21, 2014 @ 20:42:26

      Thanks Tric, I don’t know about the strength part, but I am feeling lead to write it. I am finding that as I write I am able to release a little bit more and the bad memories are no longer in control. I hope that makes sense.

      Like

      Reply

      • tric
        Jun 22, 2014 @ 17:27:41

        When I read your post I was thrilled for you, but really wondered how you would deal with reliving those memories. However when I read here your comment saying “The bad memories are no longer in control” I can understand. how it is possible.
        Well done you. Looking forward to seeing how you get on with it all. You are an inspiration, and not just because you are writing your book.

        Like

        Reply

  4. greyzoned/angelsbark
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 02:24:45

    You’ve just inspired me to make a summer time commitment! I too am writing a memoir book and it is challenging, isn’t it? But you’re right: even if it never gets published, it will serve it’s purpose. Congrats on your book project. And thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

    Reply

    • CharleneMcD
      Jun 21, 2014 @ 08:23:06

      I would love to read yours when you are finished. I always wondered why people wrote their own life stories when they were younger than I am now. Now I know. If you don’t write it, the story that was you gets lost in history. I know that there is a whole lot of future (hopefully) left in my life so that leaves me with an excuse when I am 80 or 90 to write what happened after this book was finished.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

