Variety

This year has started out with a variety of new things going on.  Some were expected, but others were created by Christmas gifts or simply by reading another persons blog.

I have been talking for a couple of years about wanting to get a hand gun and taking a concealed weapons course.  Working an hour from home and having to drive through the country side on back roads to get home and many times at night, I felt that I would feel safer with some type of protection.  So for Christmas my husband got me a Ruger LC9.  We went today for my first shooting training.  This was my first experience with a gun since I was 18 in basic training and shooting with an M-16.  My new pistol has a laser light, which is great for me.  I can hit almost where I am aiming using that light.   I am so very sure that I assisted the girl next to me in basic get her sharp shooter honors.  I also got my first booboo, learning how to hold that gun was a training experience finding out how the slide part works.  I think I did really well despite the bloody thumb, and almost all of my shots were around the middle of the target, the ones that went wide were the one where I shut my eyes…shh don’t tell my hubby, he told me to make sure I didn’t do that.   But I just couldn’t help myself, I kept jumping every time the people in the next booth shot their weapons.  It took a little while before I quit jumping, and I know that the next time we go it won’t be so bad.

Another new activity was joining a group on Facebook that will be reading the bible through in as year.  I am feeling so blessed that I have met so many new ladies that want to do the same thing.  There are ladies from all over the globe that have joined in and it is wonderful how caring they all are.  If you need a prayer for any reason just let me know and I will pass it on.  In an instant you will have almost 250 ladies praying for your need.  I am really enjoying being able to share my reading experiences with these ladies, the observations and questions that are being asked have helped to bring the bible to life for me in a way that I have not experienced before.  I am so loving this experience.

My art – I drew so many pictures last year for friends and family that I have 29 of them.  I still have some that I need to make for other family members that were requests.  But this year I think I want to do some for me.  I want to experiment with illustrating a children’s story I wrote many years ago.  It is going to be a learning experience.  I want to have fun with it and explore different mediums.  I also have a project that I need to do before February 17th creating art from a book.  I have all the supplies I need to do the project, it is just getting my mental picture to transfer to my hands.  I love books and the art that I have seen created using books is so awesome, but I have such a difficult time throwing a book away, I almost can’t bring myself to cut one apart.  So I am using one that doesn’t have that kind of hold on me.  I am using telephone books.   Hey, they are books too, but I didn’t know that their ink was just like newspaper ink until I started cutting one apart and my hands started turning black.  I am thinking that I will be combining two different designs that I found online into one.  I will post pictures when I am done, after the art has been shared in our staff meeting on the 17th.  After all there is going to be prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners and I don’t want to give away my design.

Another activity I have committed to this year is helping and receiving help at Celebrate Recovery – Sandhurst.  I have found that I look forward to my Friday nights because I know that I am going to be seeing some wonderful people that are going through a variety of Hurts, Habits, and Hang-ups and they are there for the same reason I am.  To Celebrate Recovery.  For a while back when the group was being formed and the training was going on, I had mixed feelings.  Friday’s was our date night.  The one where we did something just for us, whether it was going to the movies or just out to dinner, it was still our night.  We have adjusted and created other date nights, but it has not been consistent like it was before.  Sometimes we go out during the week, sometimes we go out for breakfast, and sometimes we skip a week.  But I am finding that I don’t resent this like I thought I would, having this variety and no set night, gives us the flexibility to say, “Hey, I am feeling tired tonight can we do this tomorrow”, or “Hey, there’s a new restaurant, you want to go tonight?”

There are other things that are going to take up my time this year.  Work, friends, church, hopefully travel, writing, and reading the blogs that I am enjoying.  There are some really talented writers out there that share a bit of their lives in little posts.  In a future post I will put a list of these blogs together and share them.  This year is turning out to be a year that looks like it is going to be filled with activities.  Thus the variety that created the title of this post.  May your variety keep your lives filled with learning, listening, and love.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. donna0418
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 23:37:41

    I love all the “variety” of activities you have lined up!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

