Saying Goodbye

There are many ways to say goodbye.  Most of the time a goodbye is “until we meet again”, but there are those other times when it is the final goodbye.  Growing up in a large family that lives all over the country we say goodbye a lot.  Today, I said one of the most difficult goodbyes there is to do.  I wrote my dad’s obituary.

I am having so many mixed emotions.  How do I say goodbye to a person that still had so many answers that I needed to know.  Like why was he so willing to leave us behind when we were little?  Why did he wait until after it was too late to try to fight for us?  To be fair, I probably would have done the same thing if a 6’4″ 250 pound man (that claimed to be Apache Indian) threatened to kill me if came around.  But that choice left us defenseless to this same man.  I didn’t know my dad, not like I wanted to know him.  We spent years not talking to each other, both out of stubbornness and hurt.  From my side, as a teen I felt it was too little to late and I carried that over into my adult years.  And I was very unforgiving of any type  of mistake I felt he was making.  Which left us years of never talking to each other, of silence and distance.  And wishing that there was a bridge that we could cross over and meet in the middle and everything would be like it should.  A father that loved his rebellious daughter and a daughter that loved her stubborn father, unconditionally, no questions asked.

Now looking back as a mom, I can see his side a little more clearly.  Here was a man, trying his hardest to say he was sorry for not realizing that things were not as they should be.  He gave up a marriage, and went bankrupt going to court trying to make things right.  Trying in the only way he knew how to protect his girls.  All he got in return was anger and rebellion.

Now, having wrote his obituary, I realized just how little I really knew about this man that I called Dad.  And it is now to late for me to tell him I am sorry too.  To ask him for a second and third and forth chance to be the daughter that he deserved and not the one that he actually got.  He once told me that my German stubbornness would give me regrets.  How true that is.  I am learning that the act of forgiveness is more than just words, it is a physical act that in my stubbornness I never really did.  An overture or gesture once or twice a year does not a relationship make.

Dad, I just want to tell you this and I hope you can hear it because I am screaming it as loud as I can “I LOVE YOU!!!  I am going to miss you more than you will ever know.  Thank you for being the dad you were, faults and all, because I know that you loved me too, faults and all.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Top 10 Posts of 2013 | Pen Scratches
  2. tric
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 06:13:48

    I am so sorry to hear about your Dad, In a way I think we all imagine we will live forever and it is only when we realise we have no more second chances that we comprehend what we have missed out on and lost. I hope you can come to terms with your past. It is good to be able to write the obituary and say a heartfelt goodbye.
    Mind yourself.

    Like

    Reply

    • CharleneMcD
      Nov 19, 2013 @ 19:05:27

      Thank you Tric, this has been more difficult than I thought it would be. Curiosity – is Mind yourself an Irish term that means Take care of yourself? or is there some other meaning to it?

      Like

      Reply

      • tric
        Nov 20, 2013 @ 07:32:14

        Yes it is very much something that is said often over here. Sometimes without true meaning such as when we would be leaving someone instead of Goodbye we would say “See ye, mind yourself”. However the meaning of me saying it to you was “I hope your okay and look after yourself”.
        Sometimes when I comment or write I forget what is uniquely Irish speak!
        So Charlene McD in the days ahead “mind yourself”. These are difficult days for you.

        Like

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

