Creating Lasting Memories by Visiting the Library

            I have all these ideas floating around in my head of stories that I could write about the library.  Every time I think of an idea another one pops up and then I forget what I was just thinking about.  Then I thought why not memories.  I have all kinds of early memories of visiting the library and learning how to read and I often wonder what other people remember about their earliest experiences.

One of my earliest memories has to be from when I was about 4 years old.  I grew up in and around Albuquerque, NM.  The public library was just down the block and around the corner from the house where I was living at the time.  I remember my sisters and I would walk to the library on Saturday mornings.  Always with my mother holding our hands or one of us pushing the other in our little red wagon.  There was never a time that I can remember that I would ever see a child in the library without one parent or the other along with them.  That is something that has changed in recent years.

The library itself was a big place.  There were lots of windows and what felt like a bazillion stairs to climb to get to the front doors.  Looking back I realize that there were only about 7 or 8 steps.  But hey, I was only 4 at the time and those steps were huge.  The inside seemed spacious with lots of room to roam.  I really can’t remember what the children’s area looked like.  I just knew that when I went there the librarian would have a new book ready for me.  She even remembered my name.

I think I started reading before I learned how to walk; I had a book in my hands all the time, still do.  I wouldn’t doubt if I slept with my favorite ones like some children sleep with their favorite blanket.  There was “Babar the Elephant” and “Curious George” along with “Dick and Jane” and “The Curious Little Puppy” amongst others.  I would read those stories over and over again; I still read them once in a while now.  I just could not get enough of those books; because of this I would often get my older sister in trouble for not doing her homework.  As soon as she got home from school if she laid her books down, I would grab them and hide in our bedroom closet so I could do my homework.  Sometimes I would take just one or two; others I would take the whole pile and hide somewhere else so they couldn’t find me during my study time.  I was just small enough to fit under the bathroom sink, and you might find me there too.  My parents finally figured out that if they sat me down at the table with my sister so we could do the homework together she could get hers done.

I know that those kinds of memories are available for your children here in the Darlington County Library System or in the library system where you live.  Here in our county we have a variety of programs offered each month at all four branches for the youth from newborns to teens.  Please join us in the library each week and make those wonderful library memories with your children.  Call your local library today and find out what they offer.  You may surprise yourself and find that you too are having fun once again reliving a childhood memory.  Remember, a memory can be created with the turning of a page.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

