Creating A Drawing

 

 

I promised a couple weeks ago that I would make a step by step guide on how I create one of my pictures.  This butterfly was made for a friend in memory of her father.  Her father liked Monarch Butterflies and the New York Giants and I wanted to incorporate those colors into the drawing as best I could.

???????The first step was to create a pencil drawing, if you will notice there are a lot of extra lines but I have a really good eraser.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNGThe next step was to start outlining the picture.  I use a sharpie pen.  It is a click pen and has a really fine tip.  Sometimes I will make the lines extra wide to emphasize that part of the picture.  In these two pictures you will notice that there are still pencil markings.

SAMSUNG This picture has all the pencil marks erased and all the sharpie lines are in place.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

I have started adding in the design details and colors in these pictures.  I use a variety of pens for the colors most of them are Gel Pens (Fiskars, The WriteDudes Super Gel, ProMark GelFX, Pentel Sunburst) others are Pilot G-2, Prismacolor Premier, and Bic Mark It Ultra Fine (these bleed through so I use them very sparingly on this paper, plus they don’t stay fine on this type paper).  I like all the pens I use for different reasons.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG SAMSUNGWhen I put in the dates, the colors I chose were too dark and too close in color to be able to read the dates easily.  So I tried to outline the numbers in purple, it didn’t quite look right so I used a white ink.  When I drew over the darker purple color they mixed together and made a really light purple.  It still didn’t look right so I colored over a small portion of the green ink in white and this created a really neat effect.  So I figured better leave it alone while the getting was good.  When I started doing the green and yellow body portions, the middle section started looking like an argyle sock with the diamond shapes. My favorite design is the silver and blue in the lower wings.  It reminds me of a cloudy sky, just the place you will find a beautiful butterfly on a summer day.

SAMSUNGThis is the finished picture.  It took be about 4 days to complete the picture, but time wise it only took about 10 hours to put in all the colors.  The time in days was to let the inks dry and to accommodate my work schedule.  I had fun making this picture.  In each of my pictures I put a layered heart.  This heart represents the love and prayers that I put into the pictures for the person I am creating it for.

Disclaimer:  I have not been asked for or paid to endorse any of the ink pens I use.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

