Time – Is it Really Just A State of Mind

“Life is all about timing…the unreachable becomes reachable, the unavailable become available, the unattainable…attainable.  Have the patience, wait it out.  It’s all about timing.”  Stacey Charter

I just looked at the last time I posted to my blog.  Wow, January, it has been much longer than I thought.  I will come up with a topic while driving and then by the time I get home, it will have gone away or I will have decided that the topic was too trivial based on what was going on at the time.

This time I want to write about the concept of time.   We all know that there are 60 seconds in a minute, 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day, etc. etc. etc.  That is not the kind of time I want to talk about.  I am more interested in the time that we spend with the people we love.  Do you think to yourself: “Oh, I really need to call_______” you can fill in the blank with one, two, three, or even more names.  Then before you realize it it is midnight and much much too late to call them.  I find myself doing that all the time.

What about actually going to see that person, or those people?  Do you actually sit down and make a plan and follow through with it?  or Do you make excuses?  “I can’t leave work.”  “I don’t have enough money.”  “I need to use my vacation for something else.”  I find that I have made way to many excuses over the years.  Yes, there was the little problem of finances, but I never did anything about that like save $20-25 dollars from each paycheck.  Just add it up.  If you get paid twice a month and save $20 dollars from each check you would have $480 at the end of the year.  Just add $5 more dollars and you would have $600.  That could easily buy round trip tickets to somewhere.

My most recent excuse for not taking a vacation and going to see family:  “I just got promoted to this position.  I can’t justify taking a week of vacation during this next year.”  Let me tell you right now, that excuse is hogwash.  I was never told by management that I could not take a vacation.  I placed that on my own shoulders.  I did it because I was in a new position and I treated it like I was a new hire that had yet to earn vacation time through longevity.  Yet my vacation time keeps adding up.

I kept telling myself, I really need to go see one family member or another.  Distance shouldn’t matter.  But it does.  When you have a family that is scattered all over the country, how do you pick the one or ones that you go see.  It was easy when my Grandparents were alive.  We all just congregated at their house.   Want time to see family, pick up the phone and make plans to go to Grandmas on a certain date.  It usually worked out that we (my 5 siblings, my mom, and I) could all be there at the same time.  Except for some reason my older sister and I have never been able to get it coordinated.  Usually she could go the week before or the week after the week I could go.  Now, it has been almost 20 years since we saw each other face to face.   Our children have grown up, gone to college, gotten married, had children, joined the military, and gotten divorced in that time.  They only know each other through the phone calls my sister and I made to each other and then reported what was happening in each others lives.

I am going to see my sister again in a few short weeks, but it is for all the wrong reasons.  I am going to go say goodbye to her oldest son.  He left us much too early in his life.   Time, he didn’t have the time to let time pass.  He wanted it all – a family, a wife, kids, a good job, a nice home.  But he didn’t have the time to let those things happen.  Life was over at 30, he felt that he would never be able to have those and now he never will.  He took time in his own hands and made it stop.  But time only stopped for him.  It continues to go on for the rest of us.  No, we don’t have all the time in the world; we are all born and we all die.  No, time does not heal all wounds; some wounds are much too deep.  But we have to give time the chance to work magic in our lives.  Time to meet the right person, and have the kids and share the love and joy in life.  Now, we need to give time the chance to give us peace.

I don’t know who said this but it is so very true: “Don’t count every hour in the day, make every hour in the day count.”  Take the time now to pick up that phone and make that call you have been meaning to make.  Take time to tell your family and friends that you love them.  Take time to tell a complete stranger on the street to have a wonderful day and give them a smile when you do.  You may save a life that way.  Take time to show others that you care.  Take the time to enjoy each moment you are given and never take time for granted.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Top 10 Posts of 2013 | Pen Scratches

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

