The Face In The Mirror

Sometimes I wonder if the face I see in the mirror is the same face that others see when they look at me.  Sometimes the face is happy, full of joy, there is a large smile on the face, the eyes are shining brightly.  Other times the face is tight, the mouth is turned down, there is anger in the eyes.  Then I see the face is full of sadness with the eyes full of tears, they are dripping down the face like a faucet that was not turned off.  When others see the face that I see in the mirror, can they see the pain, the sorrow, the joy, the happiness?  Can they see the wish to run away, to simply disappear?  Can they see the heart that is being broken or the heart that is experiencing joy?  Can they see and just not care enough to wrap their arms around me and say that everything will be okay?

I wonder, have I been able to change the face enough when I turn from the mirror so that no one really knows what I see when I see that face.  Have I become such a good actress that I can smile and hide the face I see every morning.  Can they see the disappointment I feel when I discover things that tear my world apart?  Do my eyes show others what I see when I face the person in the mirror?

Can I face the person in the mirror when I have to make tough choices?  Can the face in the mirror handle the future when the choices are taken out of my hands?

Only time will tell.  Time that the face in the mirror desperately wants.  Time to turn back the clock.  Time to change the choices.  Time to make better choices.  Time to make different choices.  Maybe with this time, the face in the mirror will become happy and full of joy on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Whispers of Worth

Cultivate a Life of Joyful Simplicity

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

kyriakh123

Poetry, Fiction, Articles About Writing

