Chapter 6 – Christy’s Life Changes

Well, I am nine years old now.  I have had some very bad times in the last couple years.  For one thing, I no longer live with Megan and Michael Daniels.  Oh, it wasn’t anything I did wrong.  It wasn’t anything they did wrong.  I didn’t get taken away from them or anything.  It was even worse.  It was because they died in a house fire at Grandma Daniels’ house the day after Christmas when I was seven.  I wasn’t there because Mommy said I could spend the night at my friend Donna’s house on the other side of town.  Everyone else was there even my little brother Jase.  I guess I will never get to see them again until I get to heaven.

I now live with the Thomas’.  I have been living with them now for two years.  At first they were always talking about adopting me, but it was all just talk.  I would listen to Father Thomas at night and all he would do was complain that I was a girl.  Like I could help that.  Father Thomas’ real name is Terry.  Terry Thomas and he is married to Tina Thomas.  I think he did it on purpose.  Terry and Tina Thomas, they are all T’s.  When I first came here they were talking about changing my name to Tammy Thomas but I refused to let my name be changed no matter what.  My name is Christy Daniels and Megan and Michael Daniels will always be my mom and dad.

There is another little girl who lives here now but she is only supposed to be here another couple weeks and then her mom is going to get her back.  Her name is Katy and she is four.  Her mom had to put her in a foster home because of finances.  She had lost her job and was going to be losing her house really soon.  She had no one to help her because her parents lived so far away and both of them were living on retirement pay.  So she went to the social workers and asked them for help until she could get back on her feet.

Boy is Katy lucky; at least her mom still wants her.  My birth mother didn’t want me.  The only thing I have left of my life with Megan and Michael is a small photo album.  I look through it once in a while, but every time I look at the pictures I want to cry.  Once in a while Mother Thomas will take me to the cemetery to see them.  But it just is not the same as if they were here.  I got stuck in Abilene, Texas.  These wasn’t anybody back home in Buffalo Gap that I could go live with.  I still don’t know what happened to all of our stuff back at our house.  My bike and dollhouse are gone.  So is our dog Bandit.  I never got to say good-bye to any of them.

“Hey Katy, bet you can’t wait to get home.”

“Yep.”

“Bet you get to have your own room when you mom comes to get you.”

“Yep.”

“Bet your mom is going to get you a dog when you go back home with her.”

“Yep.”

“Bet you have to come back here again tonight.”

“Nope.”

“Bet I can get you to say more than one word.”

“Nope.”

“Wait a minute; you don’t have to come back here tonight?”

“Nope.”

“Why not?”

“Because.”

“You dope, you have to say more than one word now!”

“Nope.”

“Well, I will just have to ask Motheater, I mean Mother Thomas.”

“Yep.”

“Oh, enough of this.  You ready to go?”

“Yep.”

Katy’s mom is here.  She asked Mother Thomas if she could take me with her and Katy to get some ice cream.  That is what I like about her.  I am not related at all but she still treats me like she likes me.  I can’t wait to get some of that Rocky Road Ice Cream.  It is still my favorite flavor of all time.  I love topping it with M&M bits and whip-cream.

Oh yeah, guess what?  There is a new teacher here at the high school.  Her name is Emily Richardson.  She is teaching high school Literature and Drama.  The Abilene City Council has asked her to reopen the Little Theater.  Her first big play is going to be “A Mid-Summer Nights Dream” by William Shakespeare.  I am going to go to the auditions tomorrow if I can talk Mother Thomas into taking me.  If not, I will just sneak out.  I want to go try out for one of the fairies because there are no little kid parts and fairies are very small.

“Mother Thomas, is Katy coming back here tonight?” I asked as I raced to keep up with Katy and her mom.

“No.  She will only be here for a short while to pick up her stuff and drop you off.  Her mom is getting full custody of her again today.”

“Oh.  Another one gone.  I wonder if it will ever be me not having to come back here.”  I watched the disappointed look come over Mother Thomas’ face when I said that.  I just never can please her.

Well, when I come back here tonight, Mother Thomas has said that there will be another little girl staying with us.  She is really little.  Almost a new born and Mother Thomas said it would be for only a short while and then she would be going to live with people who wanted to adopt her.  I wonder why it is that everyone else gets to come and go and I get stuck with these people.

Father Thomas has begun to really dislike me.  I guess it is because I am constantly telling him that he is not my father and I don’t have to do what he says.  He has not said anything for a while about having a son but maybe that is because they have started locking me in my room at night and I have not heard him complain.

Well, it may sound bad that they lock me in but I guess they think it is for my own good.  You see, I have run away four times this year.  I made it all the way to Fort Sumner, New Mexico once by hiding in the back of a truck.  I almost made it all the way to Albuquerque.  One of the things I found out about after Mom and Dad died was that my birth mother was in Albuquerque when I was born.  They had written down my birthplace in the front page of my baby book.  I guess the Thomas’ were worried that I would make it all the way there and find out that my birth mother didn’t want me or something.

Oh yeah, I was telling you about the new little girl.  Father Thomas has been trying for two years now to get a little boy to foster and I don’t know why, but they just won’t give him one.  Maybe it is because we would have to share a room and they don’t want a girl and boy sharing a room.  Who knows but I do know that it is really making him mad and he has started to drink and become very mean.  I don’t know how much longer I will be able to stand living here.

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Follow me on Twitter

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Heather Mertens

Sharing Real Life... Loving Christ at the Same Time

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

Chronically Batgirl Colours

Adult colouring books reviewed!

Darlington County Historical Commission

Working to preserve, protect and promote our rich history.

Inspired by Life ... and Fiction

Ten novelists bound by the pen, sisterhood, & more

Sarah Loudin Thomas - Author

Appalachian Blessings

AlanaWPiper | Curating a Creative Life

creative living, photography, filmmaking, vintage style, travel, & family

Brave Girls Club

Life-Changing Fun for Women

Robin Lee Hatcher

Official Website of Award Winning Novelist Robin Lee Hatcher

Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth

Saving The World From Stupidity...One Blog At A Time

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

History Around Us

Exploring the Unique History of McKinney, Texas

K.M. Weiland

Author of Historical and Speculative Fiction

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Random Writing Rants

Teaching Adults and Teens How to Get Published

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Totally Inspired Mind

Where Positive Minds Congregate and Beautiful Souls Shine

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

In The Courts of YHWH

Better than a thousand days elsewhere

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

franniejoy

Joshua 1:5 - I will never leave you nor forsake you!

deb4reading

I Love to Read Books

chica and bubba

crayons, crawling, & craziness

Captain Jills Journeys

She sails the seven seas in search of FREEDOM

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Adventure Habit

Seeking The Lord In All the Earth

The S Curve

What's Ahead, Lord Only Knows

Applied Faith

For Christians Applying Faith to Daily Life

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Simple Life Abundant Life

Experiencing true JOY through faith, food, and family.

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

